Wetzel Fellows

The Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons (MAOPS) William L. Wetzel Fellowship Program was created to expose osteopathic post-graduates to organized medicine and to develop future MAOPS leaders. Recipients must demonstrate an intent to practice medicine in Missouri, a commitment to the profession, leadership skills, ethical behavior, professionalism, integrity, and good moral character.

MAOPS Wetzel Fellows


Tessa Tolen, DO (Candidate)


Michelle Helton, DO

Jordan Palmer, DO


Jared Nichols, DO

  • All expenses, within reason, will be paid for activities related to completion of the Wetzel Fellowship.
  • $5,000 upon completion of the Wetzel Fellowship requirements and upon establishment of permanent, full-time practice in the state of Missouri.
  • Wetzel Fellows will receive a plaque commemorating their achievement.
  • Wetzel Fellows will be recognized on a plaque at the MAOPS Central Office upon completion of the Wetzel Fellowship Program.
Application Process
  • Completion of the standard Wetzel Fellowship Application.
  • Submission of two letters of recommendation with one being from their postgraduate program director (4th year medical students should apply only after program selection).
  • MAOPS postgraduate membership is required.
  • Interview with the MAOPS Leadership Development Committee (LDC).
Annual Requirement Checklist
  • Applicants should be osteopathic postgraduate physicians intending to practice in Missouri.
  • Each Wetzel Fellow will have two years to complete the program requirements. However, discernible progress must be made each year once the program is started.
  • View the annual requirements checklist HERE.

1423 Randy Lane | Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: 573-634-3415 |  Fax: 573-634-5635  •  Email MAOPS

Connect With Us

Terms of Service

©2023 MAOPS. All rights reserved

The Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons (MAOPS) was founded in 1897 in Kirksville, MO – the birthplace of osteopathic medicine – as the professional organization for physicians holding Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degrees.